The Indian Cycle of Life


Over the past few years, I have grown to hate going for family functions, because inevitably, people I haven’t even seen in years will take it upon themselves to ask me when I am getting married. I will then have to deal with an entire range of emotions, namely anger, frustration and pure hatred. This will eventually culminate into a psychotic rage from which I will recover by mentally inflicting a series of Japanese torture techniques on the culprits.

Recently, I met one such imbecile family friend on my way to work and as always she asked, and I said ‘I am not sure, soon perhaps’ (which in my opinion is a vast improvement over not any time soon), and she actually said…

“Aiya nowadays getting married isn’t a big deal, you better start having kids. That is the bigger problem.”

Ok.

incredible-hulk-wallpaper-l

So then I thought about it, and realized, she didn’t say anything out of the ordinary. Such is the Indian Cycle of Life. (I have posted something similar on FB, but this is the extended cut 😉 )

When you are a student:

“Have you been studying hard? You need to score straight As and get into university ok?

When you are in university

Ah? Still studying? You need to start working and supporting your family you know? By the way do you have a boyfriend?

When you are working

Huh finish studying so fast already? Do you know how important is education?  By the way do you have a boyfriend?

When you have no boyfriend

No boyfriend ah?

When you have a boyfriend

Not married ah?

When you are married

No children ah?

When you have a child

Only one ah?

When you have another child

So many can afford ah?

When you stay home to look after your children

Good life ah, housewife. No need to work ah?

When you go to work

No need to be around for your children ah?

When your children start studying

“Have you been studying hard? You need to score straight As and get into university OK?

And it goes on and on, the Indian Cycle of Life.

Lion King has got nothing on us man 😉

Leave a Reply

